The Judiciary

In terms of Article 78(1) the judicial power shall be vested in the Courts of Namibia, which shall consist of:

Ø  a Supreme Court of Namibia;

Ø  a High Court of Namibia;

Ø  Lower Courts of Namibia

The Supreme Court and the High Court have inherent jurisdiction, including the power to regulate their own procedures and to make court rules for that purpose.

Judges are accountable to the Judicial Service Commission and in the case of the Lower Courts to the Magistrates’ Commission in the performance of their judicial functions, and are subject to the rules relating to professional ethics, discipline and dismissal as stipulated in the Constitution and other law​